Tag Archives: Literature

Bloomsbury – The Literary Heart of London

Bloomsbury is one of my very favourite parts of London.  I’m a little biased as I spent four years studying at SOAS, a college in the University of London during the 1990’s and in recent years have been spending quite … Continue reading

Posted in Culture, history, Life, London, Photography, Travel, Ye Olde England Tours | Tagged , , , , , , | 7 Comments

The Epic of Beowulf

Last week saw the premiere of a new ITV show in the vein of Game of Thrones, The Vikings and The Last Kingdom, Beowulf.  Whilst less intense and made to appeal to a wider audience than the other shows, many … Continue reading

Posted in Culture, history, television | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

New book promo video & poems from Very Sad Poetry

A few weeks ago I released my new book, Very Sad Poetry.  Thank-you to everyone who as purchased a copy, for a few days I was giving William Wordsworth a run for his money on the Amazon ranking charts and … Continue reading

Posted in Movies and Films, writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Battle of Agincourt & Why It Still Matters Today!

Today marks the 600th anniversary of the Battle of Agincourt, one of countless historical battles one has to remember if you are interested in English or British history.  This one though has gained something of a mythical status.   In … Continue reading

Posted in Culture, history | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

My New Book – Very Sad Poetry

I’m delighted today to be able to announce the release of my first ever book of poems, Very Sad Poetry.   I felt very strongly that there are a great deal of poetry books on happy subjects of love, friendship … Continue reading

Posted in Life, writing | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

How Shakespeare has influenced Pop Culture

How can I be British, a writer, yet have never really written about Shakespeare in over 3 years of blogging. Would you believe that when I was at Secondary School (High School), it was politically incorrect for us to learn … Continue reading

Posted in Heritage, history, Ye Olde England Tours | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Languages with no vowels

Hv y vr wndrd abt vwls? Or should I say, have you ever wondered about vowels? We use them all the time and they make up the first words that we learn at school.  Nearly all our words have vowels … Continue reading

Posted in Culture, writing | Tagged , , , , , , , | 9 Comments